The Interactor (Can You Feel It, Baby?)

Posted: August 21, 2012 by ChoSanJuan in Accessories, Products
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

image

Back on the 90s, there was a slew of gimmicky accessories from SEGA’s Activator to the hard rockin’ GXTV but one of them stood our from the crowd… The Interactor, by Aura!

image

I had one of these when the Genesis was still popular and the 32bit wars were heating up. It was great! Something as simple as a plastic backpack that strapped snugly onto your back and it’s only function was to be a blasting subwoofer on your back. As nerdy ad I was, I didn’t like wearing it, so I one upped myself and installed it into the couch. Gaming night with my friends was a treat since I had the only audio-interactive couches in the group (or in the major group of local cities, for that matter.)

A fond memory of taking a huge jump or getting shot out of the cannons on Mario Kart 64 then hitting the ground hard! So hard that the game hits a hard bassy “POMP!” out the back end of your kart. It was so gratifying! Everyone could feel when you landed back on the track. We all loves it!

image

I’ve since lost my power adapter for the small amplifier through many life changes and have not been able to relive those memories… Till now!

image

As you can see I have procured 2 of them (mint in box) from past Blipser, PondoB, since he couldn’t find a practical use for them and just didn’t want them. Jboy was with him and told him my story and started getting texts asking if I wanted them. My prompt response was HELLZ YEAH!

image

After picking them up, I hooked one up and adjusted the power and the filter level and tested out some Dubstep (no hating, it’s not Skrillex) and had the best back massage in quite some time.

image

The next step is to get them installed into the couch with some fancy wiring and fire up some Mario Kart! Maybe we can bring it forward into the future a little bit with some Double Dash or Wii version…

Leave a Reply

