Another market trip with the guys

Posted: October 9, 2012 by ChoSanJuan in Anime, Toys
Tags: , , ,

Took a small trip with John and Scott this past weekend. This time we made only one stop. This time we went to a new spot called Sweet Lou’s Collectibles.

image

This place has a whole lot of everything! I was there mainly for G1 Transformers but ended up with a nice surprise and a small letdown.

The owner, Lou (duh…), was more than accomodating with all of his Transformer gear that he’s picked up. All I was able to get through were 3 large boxes with loose bots of all kinds. (Sans any BayFormers, as requested.) One of the boxes had enough Constructicons to build maybe 5 Devastators! Unfortunately, it was such a melange of 1st gen with reissues of 1st gen and 2nd gen Constructicons. Not all of the parts matched up properly for a while. With a little bit of patience, I was able to merge and form 1 whole Devastator! All the guns and other accessories in tow, as well! With all of the Transformers loot, I almost walked away with a reissue of the G1 Devastator and Kup (not Sargent) but due to costs I only took Kup.

image

image

Sorry, no pics of the big yellow guy.

The big surprise of the trip was the box of trading cards that I hadn’t seen for almost 20 years!
image

They were the Masters of Japanese Animation Series 1 cards, showcasing Robot Carnival!

image

I almost had a full set when I moved out of my parent’s house in 1994 and never thought I would ever get the chance to try to complete the set. Well I got my hopes up too soon. In 1995, my collection left me with a broken set, 5 cards short. Now it’s 2012, I am unfortunately 1 card short now. 😦

image

Slightly disheartened after going through 12 sealed packs expecting to finally clear my collection. What was I thinking, right? Well maybe someday it will work out!

Comments
  1. karaski says:

    Next time I better be invited! 🙂

Leave a Reply

