Fire Emblem Awakening

Posted: March 18, 2013 by karaski in 3DS, I Just Beat..., Nintendo, Review, Video Games
Tags: , ,

Image

Last night I finished, hands down, the best game I have played in a while: Fire Emblem Awakening on the 3DS. I was lucky enough to get my hands on a physical edition of the game from a local game store (Nintendo has really been pushing downloads of this game).

Before I get too far I need to mention that this game is probably not for everyone but it was made for people like me. If you’re into story driven turn-based RPGs then this game is for you too. Think Advance Wars on the DS.

I became VERY attached the characters in the game because the game allows for a lot of character development. In fact, your characters can marry each other if they reach a certain support level. The option for permadeath really weighs heavily in the back of your mind as you strategically move you characters across the battlefield.

url-1

 

The game looks amazing on the 3DS, especially during the cut scenes. Even though you have the option to skip, DONT DO IT, because the story is just too good to miss, on the first play through at least. On my second play through I am skipping some of the scenes and it would have destroyed my experience had I done that in the beginning.

It took me ~20 hours to get to the endgame but I didn’t go around and battle all enemies to reach vendors nor did I battle/recruit for additional team members from the bonus box until the last 5 hours of the game. There are a good 20 – 30+ hours of gameplay. Probably more with all of the DLC you can purchase from the e shop.

I know I have not said much besides that I like the game but it’s because I really want everyone to play it, without spoilers. So with my recommendation give it a try! 🙂

Comments
  1. captainerock says:

    I took Fire Emblem to Florida with me on our trip, and played it at night before bed. I had about 7 hours racked up. On the flight back I went to play it, but instead I deleted my save! I was really tired, and was sitting in the airport for hours with a flight delay, yes it prompted me “are you sure?”, It’s a long story, but it boils down to, ‘i’m dumb’. Anyway, on the flight back I was able to get back to where I was and then some because I was able to skip the cut-scenes I had already saw; admittedly, i re-watched a bunch of them because they are cool. The story is good, and I was even impressed with the use of 3D on this title.

    This game gets my stamp of approval as well.

Leave a Reply

