Goodies From The Goodwill Geek

Posted: June 16, 2013 by jboypacman in Toys
Tags: ,

Derek the Goodwill Geek was very kind to help me out and pick up from out his way and to send over to me a pair of former MattyCollector Exclusive Justice League Unlimited action figures.

The two action figures in question were Tom Turbine from the “Justice Guild” episode of the JLU cartoon and “Shazam” or as he really is known, Captain Marvel.

The Tom Turbine character is supposed to be based off the “Golden Age” Atom and Superman with the squinty eyed looked barrowed from Fawcett’s Captain Marvel.

Myself personally liken him to more a “Super Science Pulp Hero” like Doc Strange from the 1940s Nedor Comics(later revived by Alan Moore as “Tom Strong” for his “ABC” or America’s Best Comics) and Dynamo of the T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents series of comics(which has been publish and revived by various comic book groups for many years).

“Shazam”(or Captain Marvel if you prefer) is a little different story for me because the character has been on my mind as of late and when I saw this figure I had to ask Derek if he could get one for me.

I see Shazam/CM(much as I do a young teenage Spider-Man) as a sort of boyhood dream by those of us that read comic books in our youths and imagined somehow we could gain super powers and become a super hero by saying a magic word (or getting bitten by a radioactive spider as in Peter Parker’s case).

A big thank you to the Goodwill Geek for both of these great action figures which shall be remaining in there packages for the time being(It’s rare for me not to open things up but this time I think I like them how they are).

via Revenge From The Cosmic Ark
~jboypacman

Leave a Reply

