G.I. Joe Gung-Ho V1

Posted: June 18, 2013 by jboypacman in Toys
Tags: ,

If there was ever a GI Joe character that reminded me of my late grandfather it is Gung-Ho due to both of them being Marines and because of there tattoos(Gung-Ho’s is on his chest and my grandfather had the same on one of his forearms).

To me Gung-Ho is tough and so was my grandfather who had to be so because he served in World War II and actually was at Iwo Jima.

I miss my grandfather who raised me, protected me and guided me through my early life up until his passing from a Heart Attack when I was in my early 20s so it’s nice to have this action figure to remind me of him.

Gung-Ho version 1 was released in 1983 as part of series 2 of the “A Real American Hero” line of G.I. Joe action figures and was sold up until 1986 when it was discontinued.

There has been a total of 20 versions of Gung-Ho released in action figure form with the 20th version having came out 2009.

Interestingly the U.K./ European version 1 was given a red vest and sold under the name “Gaucho” with the Action Force repaint of the G.I. Joe Headquarters as a exclusive figure only available if you bought that playset.

via Revenge From The Cosmic Ark
~jboypacman

Leave a Reply

