As I mentioned last year, my top 10 of 2013 is based on games that were released this year that I had a chance to play. I do not own an Xbox 360 or Xbox One, which is why there is an absence of Microsoft presence on my list (I can’t judge a game I have not played). I did pick up a Playstation 4 but unfortunately my launch day pick up didn’t make it either. I had fun putting this together so I hope you have fun reading my opinions! 🙂

#1 FIRE EMBLEM: AWAKENING (NINTENDO 3DS)

Fire Emblem: Awakening (3ds)

Two years in a row a tactical, strategy RPG has made it’s way to the top of my list. I had quite a hard time getting a hold of Fire Emblem when it was released because Nintendo was really pushing to get folks to download this title through the E-Shop. They even released a special edition Fire Emblem blue 3ds console but the copy of the game that came with it was digital! Still, I would like to get my hands on that someday.

This game was AMAZING, the cut scene graphics blew me away on the 3DS. I literally didn’t put the game down after I started playing. I had to plug  my 3DS in quite a few times. I will be honest and say that the romance and story really captured me. I read / sat through every piece of dialogue that they offered. After I finished the game I played through it two additional times to try and bond different characters and classes in battle for an advantage. I would highly recommend this game to fans of RPGS.

#2 DIABLO III  (PLAYSTATION 3)

Diablo III

When Diablo III was released for Playstation 3 I was curious about it because of all the hype surrounding the earlier PC launch but I wasn’t planning on picking it up. In fact the only reason I did was because a few of my friends had a copy and said the multiplayer was great. Now here it is sitting atop my best of 2013 list. I had so much fun playing the game and playing with friends mainly. You can’t explain the feeling of finding a rare drop after a battle and equipping it proudly! I still throw this game in every so often and see it as something I will continue to play to level up my character and gain rare items.

#3 ANIMAL CROSSING: NEW LEAF (NINTENDO 3DS)

Animal Crossing

I am a sucker for Animal Crossing in general, it is an extremely underrated Nintendo game. I think a lot of people consider it for little kids or non-hardcore gamers because of the simple gameplay and cutsey graphics but some of the most dedicated video game players I know are fans of the game and put hundreds, even thousands of hours in their towns. I will admit I stopped playing with Pokemon was released shortly after but I know someday I will log in again and see my weed-ridden town and angry neighbors.

#4 XCOM: ENEMY WITHIN (PLAYSTATION 3)

xcom

I don’t have much new to say about this tactical strategy RPG that I didn’t say last year. Enemy Within isn’t mind-blowingly different that Enemy Unknown, which is why it falls a little on the list. The new additions are great and I love having an excuse to try and play the game again with the new options. Will someone else please pick this up so I can get some multiplayer in?? Please and Thank you 🙂

#5 POKEMON X & Y (NINTENDO 3DS)

Pokemon X and Y

Always a sucker for a new Pokemon game, I picked both titles up on launch day. I have not played enough to get my moneys worth  but I am hoping one of these weekends I can spend every waking hour training up my pokemon and beating the remaining gym leaders. I enjoy the new features of the game and still love the experience of playing the game.

#6 NI NO KUNI: WRATH OF THE WHITE WITCH (PLAYSTATION 3)

Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch

If you would have asked me earlier this year what my #1 would be, I probably would have answered with no hesitation that it would be Ni No Kuni. If you’ve been reading the blog you know my sob story about pre-ordering the Wizards Edition and fearing it would not arrive so purchasing a gamestop copy only to have my Wizard’s Edition arrive later that week. I still loved the idea of the game and need to get back to finishing it but It didn’t grab me like I expected… maybe I hyped myself up too much.

#7 DRAGONS CROWN (PLAYSTATION 3)

dragons crown

This was a random pick up that turned into a lot of fun. I am not quite sure how to describe the game correctly but it is a RPG mixed with a side-scrolling beat-em up and a TON of fun multiplayer. It looks like chaos on the screen when you get a lot of people in the mix but the over the top character design and animations make for a lot of laughs. I would recommend you check it out!

#8 MINECRAFT (PLAYSTATION 3)

Minecraft

I should just say “see previous post” but I will give you  a little more… I have been playing Minecraft on my Mac since it was in beta but really am enjoying the console version because it allows me to add friends quickly and easily without using a server. That is what really sets this version apart for me.

#9 SUPER HEXAGON (MOBILE IOS AND ANDROID)

super hexagon

It seems silly to add a cheap mobile game to the list but I can’t tell you how many hours I have drained (and continue to drain) into this game. The objective is simple enough; last as long as you can (you’re the little triangle) without touching a wall. Seems simple enough but add high-energy electronic music and a very fast moving design and you’re in for a difficult time. Eventually you can unlock more levels at higher difficulty.

#10 THE LAST OF US (PLAYSTATION 3)

last of us

I purchased this game thinking it was going to be the next Skyrim (in terms of hours invested) but sadly it was not. The graphics looked AMAZING, especially in the cut scenes but I became quickly frustrated with the stealth sections of the game and never finished it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s here on this list because I will finish it and I enjoyed what I had seen so far but it didn’t live up to the hype for me.

Leave a Reply

