Thank you, Sony… Part 2

Posted: December 25, 2014 by ChoSanJuan in Microsoft, PlayStation 3, Playstation 4, Politics, Products, Sony, Xbox 360, Xbox One
Tags: , , , , , ,

Close to 1 AM, I finally had it with trying keep hitting the login button to see if I could shove my way in.  I attempted to contact a Sony rep, via chat, and this is how it all transpired…

Wendy: Hello, My name is Wendy how may I assist you today?
You: Hi Wendy, I just opened up my PS4 I got for Christmas and I entered the code for the pick4… I didn’t know that the system was having errors and I think I bombed out my code I wanted for Destiny
You: What can I do?
Wendy: I’d be happy to look into this for you today Fred.
Wendy: Would you please provide me with your Online and Sing-In ID?
Wendy: Also, provide me with the code.
You: ID is dalum1
You: I log in with **********
You: code **** **** ****
You: when I use the code, I get a response confirmation of undefined and a continue button
You: (redeeming from the website)
Wendy: Would you please verify that all the letters and numbers are correct in the code you provided me.
Wendy: Unfortunately I was unable to find it.
You: **** **** ****
Wendy: Did you receive the code as a PSN Card or was it a voucher?
You: My wife got me the pick 4 bundle. there was a trifold card at the bottom of the system’s box
Wendy: Are you able to see other numbers below the code?
Wendy: Please provide me with the 10 digits number.
You: on the card?
Wendy: Yes, it should be below the code.
You: That’s all I’ve got
Wendy: Can you provide me with a picture of the card that you received?
You: absolutely! hold on…
Wendy: You should be able to see an option to attach files in this chat window. Thank you in advance.
You: There’s the card
You: Can I send one more image?
Wendy: Yes, you can do it now.
You: That’s the error I get after I submit the code on the far left panel of the card
Wendy: Thank you. Allow me a moment, please.
You: ok
Wendy: Thank you for the information. Can you please enter your code in this link: http://redeem.us.playstation.com
Wendy: It will provide you with a new code which is the one you will be able to redeem in the PS Store.
You: this is where I did it originally…
You: I’ll do it again
You: same undefined error
Wendy: I’d like you to know that unfortunately the PSN is offline at this moment this may be the reason why you are not able to redeem the code. I’d appreciate if you try again tomorrow, if the issue persists you can feel free to contact us back so we can follow up your case.
You: It’s now almost 1am EST. I was able to login and was able to update my profile from my PS3 to the 4. This is a vast contrast between what I experienced at 10pm earlier tonight. Is there an official ETA yet for resolution on PSN side?
Wendy: We don’t have an exact time when it will be fixed, however we are working hard in order to solve it in the next hours. Rest assured this won’t last too long Fred.
You: OK, while I do appreciate the help, the conflicting information of the service being down and up at the same time is a great disappointment. I will try again tomorrow in the AM.
Wendy: I appreciate your understanding. Please feel free to let us know if you have another question or concern regarding this code because we will be very happy to assist you.
You: I think we’re good for now. Thanks for the help.

Upon further investigation, it seems that there was a DDoS attack on the Sony and Microsoft servers that was announced to happen weeks in advance.  The perpetrators: Lizard Squad.  These guys are upsetting the the whole gaming community with their shennanigans while hiding behind their “Microsoft and Sony aren’t delivering…” attitude and the fact that they just can.  The good news is that another group, Finest Squad, has stepped up with saying that they are looking to take out Lizard Squad.  Claims stating that they are helping authorities and DOXed all 7 members of Lizard Squad.

Hopefully, this will be over soon and I can get my Destiny back on.

On a related note:  Are any Diablo III players out there with the Ultimate Evil Ed. getting their 100% XP with SEN/PSN being down?

Leave a Reply

