Fred’s Top 10 of 2014

Posted: December 31, 2014 by ChoSanJuan in Android, Lists, Mobile Gaming, Ouya, PC, PlayStation 3, Playstation 4, Sony
Tags: , , , ,

Welcome to my 2014 edition annual top 10 games.  Like the years in the past, this isn’t a list of games that were released in 2014, more like the games that took a large chunk of my attention for the year.

10. Riptide GP 2 (Android) – I got this off of the Amazon App Store when they were giving it out for the app of the day many moons ago.  I stumbled across it before then when I started playing Beach Buggy Blitz from the same company.  When I started delving into cross matching controllers to different Android platforms, I busted this game out and just kept on playing it!

9. Matilda Castilla (Ouya) – This throwback to Ghouls and Ghosts/Ghosts and Goblins is a love letter to one of the original rage quit titles from Capcom. What drew me into this title was the level of old school difficulty and the multiple endings.  (I am striving to beat this game in under 4 continues for the best endings.)

8. Real Racing 3 (Android) – A similar find to Riptide GP 2 and pairing controllers… I was an avid player of RR2 on my Nexus 7, but when I noticed that newer version came out on Google Play, I had to do the upgrade.  Really happy that I did too!  Granted, this is no current gen (or even last gen) racing sim but if you are looking for a solid mobile representative to step up and and hold your attention for precious gaming time – Real Racing 3 is a great way to go!

7. Killing Floor: Calamity (Ouya) – This dual stick, top down shooter based off of Trip Wire’s Killing Floor FPS franchise.  All the same characters, “Zeds”, guns and powerups are there!  If you have an Ouya, snag this since it’s a great system exclusive!

6. Minecraft (PC) – Almost seems like a cop-out from my lists of the past 2 years but this is very much a driving force in my gaming time. As a convert from the console versions, the PC version is always leaps and bounds from the other versions but isn’t why it took over this year. Honestly… I don’t know why! (No, the Monday night Twitch stream isn’t the reason…)

5. Hawken (PC) – Do you like huge robots?  Do you like lasers?  Do you like fast, anime-like action?  Well Hawken is right up your alley!  This free to play game had me hooked around the same time I found MechWarrior: Online.  Hawken takes 5th for me (over MWO) with it’s insane speed.  Both games are great, but the very premise of MWO is to be very deliberate and methodical about how much of a giant robot sim it is, it lurched back under 10.  Maybe next year, MechWarrior…

4. Hearthstone (PC/Android) – Earlier this year, Kara was kind enough to tap my old Magic: the Gathering kid in me with Hearthstone.  While my new laptop could handle it, I had to reformat it and never reinstalled it.  Fast forward a few months and the iOS tablet version came out and Android was left out in the cold.  Then Blizzcon happened.  Blizzard said that a new Android version would be available in December.  As soon as it came out, I snagged it!  I think I’ve played more Hearthstone now that I can take it everywhere with me in a more efficient way than VPNing into my home machine to play it remotely.

wall9-1920x12003. Diablo III: Reaper of Souls (PS4) – This gem squeaked by and has that much power to hit 3rd place because it’s that damn good!  Even with all of the DDoS attacks over Christmas on Microsoft and Sony, this game elbowed it’s way to the top 3 and I’ve barely gotten into the  actual new content past where I left off with the standard PS3 version.

dis.tsum_.tsum_.610.4002. Disney’s Tsum Tsum (Android) – This game is slightly a shameful guilty pleasure for me since I’m not a Disney fan and this game is geared towards kids. I used to be a HUGE Bejeweled player, but the game got too boring for me. After listening to an episode of All About Android, a few months back, their Arena segment brought out this little gem. This is your normal “match 3” style puzzle game but that’s where the similarities stop.

destiny-logo1. Destiny (PS3/PS4) – It’s not too often I take the time to go to a midnight release for a AAA title for any system. I felt like this was the one. I was not disappointed! This game is amazing! Regardless of its flaws and the belly aching from the internet, the one thing all the haters had to say is that they were still drawn to it. Day after day, they played and played and played like some video game harpy forcing some blissful compliance. Deep down inside, all of them actually love the game.

If you haven’t played this masterful follow-up to Bungie’s post-Halo IP, then you should hand in your FPS Player’s Card at the door.

Special shout-out for the guy in yellow for handing over the last Destiny collector’s shirt Best Buy had.  They ran out of shirts at that guy, who was next in line before me.  Make sure to add him on PSN – mdg5-al.  Tell Him Fred and Alex from GameBlips sent you!

What can I say?  I really gave mobile gaming a lot of love this year!  I would even go as far as lumping the Ouya in my list to the mobile platform since it’s an Android platform.

Leave a Reply

